Pain Perdu

Another one of my mottos is ‘Eat your Art’. I absolutely love to cook and consider my kitchen my second studio. Part of my daily creativity is preparing, cooking, sharing and eating wonderful food. As with my all of my other artwork I always use the best ingredients and put as much care into every step of the process that I can. I leave room for ‘Serendipitous Happenings and Occurences & New Discoveries’ aka ‘mistakes’.

This is what I made to eat today. I’m also experimenting with my new Pentax A30 digital camera. Thought I’d try out the ‘Food’ mode.

Pain Perdu

pain-perdu.jpg

Pain Perdu is French for ‘lost bread’. The poor little stale pieces of bread that would otherwise end up in the compost bucket or as bird food.

img239_resize.jpg

img240_resize.jpg

Lost Cats, Brussels

 

First I soak the bread slices for about 15-20 minutes in a mixture of

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • A splash of Bourbon vanilla extract
  • A spoonful of sugar

These proportions can easily be increased depending on how much lost bread you are rescuing. I leave the bread to soak until all of the liquid has been absorbed.

 

imgp0085_resize.jpg

Then I cook the bread slices in a skillet. Today I used a mixture of the bacon fat left in the pan from breakfast and some butter.

imgp0088_resize.jpg

Finally I gently slather the Pain Perdu in pure Maple Sypup and ‘Voila’ – a beautiful afternoon snack to be enjoyed with a glass of cold milk.

imgp0090_resize.jpg

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pain Perdu

  1. I’d actually like to say that looks somewhat revoltingly fattening.
    And sickening…

    But I can’t stop thinking about it.
    Good one ^_^

Leave a Reply

