a rainy day

imgp0224_resize.jpg I love the rain. It makes the air smell really good, kind of like granite. Sometimes its really heavy and wakes me up at night. Rainclouds scud in from Cornwall and the ford at the bottom of my driveway starts to rise. Other times its a very fine misty fairy rain.

Everything sounds different too. The raindrops fall onto the water’s surface. The birds become quieter. Maybe they are listening to the rain. I like to stand beneath the trees and listen to tree rain, which is heavier than regular sky rain, fall onto my umbrella.

When I walk down to the bus stop I have to wear my wellies and I leave them stashed in my neighbour Cliff’s garden until I return from town.

I recently watched one of my favourite animated films ‘My Neighbour Totoro’ directed by the great Hayao Miyazaki and produced by Studio Ghibli. In one scene two sisters are waiting at a bus stop on a country road and Totoro comes to wait for the bus. He doesn’t have an umbrella so Satsuki lends him her spare one. When Totoro jumps there is a lot of tree rain!

tonarino_resize.jpg

totoro-bustop-rain_resize.gif

Everything looks different when it rains. The streets are all shiny and barbed wire and spider webs are strung with tiny beads of water. Puddles mirror the world above. Flowers and leaves become studded with pearls of water.

imgp0239_resize.jpg

rain-flowers.jpg

The last time it rained a lot I had a picnic planned with my friend Ray. We went out anyhow to the gardens at the University of Exeter and found a sort of classical Greek bus shelter with a bench that looked out onto Reed Hall and a flower bed filled with wisteria and forget-me-nots. A nice place to enjoy French baguette sandwiches and a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand.

imgp0263_resize.jpg

Later on the sun came out

imgp0268_resize.jpg

Leave a Reply

