The Space Between

 Up until last year I have called myself an Art Quilter.  When I discovered quilting in 1997, I mastered traditional quilting techniques and then experimented, designed and made original art quilts for the next eight years.  About a year ago, I felt that I had done everything that I cared to do using traditional and experimental three-layer quilting techniques.  I started on a new leg of my creative journey in 2006 which included re-discovering photography and composing poetry and incorporating these into my art.  I am also creating three-dimensional art forms to contain my poetry and images.  So I have now re-defined myself as a Fibre Artist. 

As I am meeting other fibre artists who work with textiles, man-made and natural fibres, paper and everything related I am finding that we have more points of divergence in techniques and materials used than similarities.   Yet it is the use of fibre-related materials, willingness to explore and to create absolutely new art forms which is our meeting place.  Our willingness to be on the ‘cutting edge’.  Not always the safest, most comfortable place to be.  But it is the only place where new creations can be conceived, nurtured, wrought and ultimately borne.

The same concept of ‘meeting’ applies to relationships, whether with a friend or a significant other.  Two peoples’ common interests and convergent personality characteristics can initially draw them together, but it is only through the process of getting to know the Other as a completely separate individual that the real riches of  Relationship can be discovered. 

I really like these poetic quotes about the space between:

 “Once the realization is accepted that even between the closest human beings infinite distances continue, a wonderful living side by side can grow, if they succeed in loving the distance between them which makes it possible for each to see the other whole against the sky”.

— Rainer Maria Rilke

A man and a woman sit near each other, and they do not long at this moment to be older, or younger, nor born in any other nation, or time, or place.

They are content to be where they are, talking or not-talking.

Their breaths together feed someone whom we do not know.

The man sees the way his fingers move; he sees her hands close around a book she hands to him.

They obey a third body that they share in common.

They have made a promise to love that body.

Age may come, parting may come, death will come.

A man and a woman sit near each other; as they breathe they feed someone we do not know, someone we know of, whom we have never seen.

– Robert Bly, from Loving a Woman in Two Worlds

Leave a Reply

