Mind the Gap

mind-the-gap.jpg

Hampstead Tube Station, London

It has been quiet on Inspiraculum, because I am on walkabout.

sojourner.jpg

I’ve been on a sojourn to North Carolina. I have been pondering for some time now on whether and when I would like to move back to the U.S. or if I would like to remain in the U.K. for awhile longer. A big decision and not a simple one to reach. Definitely not one that I can come to in my head, hence the recconnaisance. As we say in Great Britain, “Suck it and see”.

Well, after a few weeks over here, I have decided to return to home base in Devon in time for Christmas and the New Year and to spend time with John and Titch. I’m not entirely certain for how long or what and where is next. . . . and that’s OK. I view this part of my journey as an organic process of finding out where I want to plant myself and put down some roots. I’m exploring different places to see where I can best thrive and where I will be nurtured as an artist. At times it’s very difficult not to feel ‘settled’, but I realize how very fortunate I am to be able to have the freedom and opportunity to have a look around and find the place that feels like ‘home’. Although I am coming to the realization that home is inside of me no matter where I am. Hmmmm, something to ponder upon . . . . . . .

 

labyrinth.jpg

Labyrinth

2 thoughts on “Mind the Gap

  1. I have to say , that once on a visit to friends when I was in a similar state of mind, I came into their town over a wide expanse of water and when I arrived i their village I knew that I was “home.” Really odd certainty of feeling and totally unexpected. I packed up my old digs and moved within a few weeks. Only later did I come to find out from my mother, that we had ancestors that had originally settled near there in the early 19th century.

  2. Your labyrinth of leaves upon wood which themselves are labyrinthine in nature is a wonderful discovery while surfing this last third of the night for inspiration.

    Thank You.

    HiMY SYeD

Leave a Reply

