Otherhood

Today is Mothering Sunday in the UK. A day to celebrate our mums and perhaps being a mum. My mother, Nell Rose Schwakhofer, died from breast cancer when I was 16 and I have made the choice not to become a mother myself. Sometimes on Mother’s Day I feel a bit like a single person on Valentine’s Day- left out of something that it seems everyone else in the world is a part of.

I know that not every mother-daughter relationship is positive and I also appreciate the freedom that I have in not being a mother . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . still the day invites a time of reflection.

 

otherhood.jpg

Otherhood

 

Photographer: J. Rose

One thought on “Otherhood

  1. A truly beautiful photo, I connected with your words Melinda, tears came and still come to my eyes each time I view this.

Leave a Reply

