Little Gems

I really did have every intention to enter a couple of quilts in the Festival of Quilts in Birmingham this year.  I went as far as registering and when my entry forms arrived, I put the unopened envelope somewhere in my studio.  By the time I remembered and found the envelope, I discovered that I had missed the deadline by about a month.

However, I did find out about Little Gems, A4 sized quilts made and donated to raise funds for the new Quilters’ Guild of the British Isles Museum and Gallery in York. There will be a tombola at the FoQ and I can hand in my entries at the show.  I just lo-o-o-o-ve extended deadlines.

I am working on a series of Little Gems using photos I took at London’s Southbank on New Year’s Day in 2006.  I’m exploring and experimenting with transparency and layers and man-made textiles.

The first one is Southbank Trees, based on a photo taken near the National Theatre.

southbanktrees1

I used a technique I learned in a Sheer Landscapes workshop with Ineke Berlyn which I took in Summer 2006.  A bottom layer of nylon organza, then cotton and silk fabrics for the trees, banners and concrete.  I used a sheet of fabric I made from Angelina for the rain puddle and then topped it all with a layer of tulle.  Using a very low tension on my Bernina, I stitched it all together.  As a guide for the stitiching, I had traced the tree branches and lines in the concrete onto water soluble fabric and pinned it on top of the ‘sandwich’.

southbanktrees3

southbanktrees4

southbanktrees5

Here’s what happens when it is held up to the light!

southbanktrees2

More to follow  .  .  .  .

3 thoughts on “Little Gems

Leave a Reply

