Rag Pickin’

Today Steve and I went to the Crediton Farmer’s Market. It’s on the first Saturday of the month and virtually everything at the market has been grown, raised, harvested, baked, cooked, smoked, or processed well within 10 miles of the market site.    It was a bit drizzly so I didn’t get my camera out.  On the way back home, we stopped at Proper Job, a recycling yard in Chagford to drop off some cardboard and paper.  I also sought (and found!) a piece of tempered glass to use as a cutting surface with my new soldering iron.  Our day of foraging didn’t end there.

We saw signs for a Rag Market in Chagford and went to investigate.  Held in the Jubilee Hall, it was stuffed full of stallholders selling vintage hats, clothing, textiles, jewellery and haberdashery supplies.

ragmarket4

ragmarket2

I met Liz van Hassett aka The Washerwoman and bought some vintage tweed samples in warm autumn colours from her.  At 32″ x 10″ they are just the right size to make some silk lined obis that I’ve had in mind now that the weather is turning cooler.  I get a chilly tummy!  I have some pumpkin, moss and rust coloured dupioni that might do well for the lining and am thinking of either buckled leather straps or grosgrain ribbon to fasten the ends.

ragmarket3

ragmarket5

I also got this sweet little nursery rhyme hankerchief.

ragmarket1

Leave a Reply

