Imperfectly Perfect Maple Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake

Gawd,  I can be such a prima donna!  Or maybe I just think I come across like that sometimes.  Steve says I’m not as bad as I think I am and that he understands about wanting to get things just right.   I went on a three day Enneagram retreat (Spiritual Gifts and Antidotes) last week in which I learned, among many other things, that when I am feeling comfortable and secure, I move towards Type 1 (The Perfectionist) behaviour.  When I’m there, I not only ‘notice error and correct it’, but can get unbearably tight-assed about everything.  Blecch!  But, ya know?  The great thing about learning about this stuff is gaining Self awareness and having the choice to stay in the behaviour, or not.  But it kind of sucks being in this place of awareness and not being able to get out of the old behaviour or thought patterns right away.

I made my first New York style cheesecake last night.  We had a couple of friends over for lunch today, one of whom keeps talking about a Snicker’s Pie I made about 3 years ago, so I wanted to make a special dessert.

I have a great German springform pan and adapted a recipe from Closet Cooking, using Ginger Nuts and McVitie’s Digestive Biscuits in place of graham crackers for the crust.  Since I quadrupled the mini cheesecake recipe from the other blog, I wasn’t entirely sure about the cooking time.  It wasn’t until it had cooked about 10 minutes too long that I learned about turning the oven off just when the centre is set and leaving the cheesecake in the oven to cool.  So my cheesecake ended up with a crack on the top and I was really bent out of shape about it all morning.

Long story short, when our guests arrived I forgot all about the cheesecake, enjoyed being with everyone and after I’d brought dessert out and served it, Steve asked if they’d noticed the crack and they said ‘What crack?’.  I had to laugh at myself and thanked Steve for making the point.

imperfectlyperfect

Maple Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake

Preheat oven to 325°F/160°C

Crust

  • ½ cup/50 grams Ginger Nut or ginger snap crumbs
  • 1 ½ cups/150 grams digestive biscuit or graham cracker crumbs
  • ¼ cup/60 grams soft brown sugar
  • ¼ cup/60 ml maple syrup
  • ¼ cup/60 grams melted butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg

Mix all of the above together and press into the bottom of a 9″ springform pan.

Filling

  • 2 lbs/1 kg cream (Philadelphia) cheese (softened)
  • 2 cups/450 grams pumpkin puree
  • 4 eggs (slightly beaten)
  • 1 cup/250 grams soft brown sugar
  • ½ cup/ 120 mls maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp ginger

Mix all of the above until smooth and pour into the prepared pan.  Bake for about an hour or until the centre is set, but still wobbly.  Turn the oven off and leave to cool with the oven door closed.

Leave a Reply

