Gratitude

On the last day that I rode the bus in to work before the Christmas break, the mist lay along the river valleys and the bare winter tree branches filigreed the grey sky.  My heart caught and I breathed thanks for the beauty all around me.

I remembered a time when I didn’t really notice the natural world around me.  When I was a child and adolescent I was too wrapped up in survival to take much notice outside of my tight little sphere, plus I was living in suburban Los Angeles.  Yet as I got older and started to go camping and out into nature, I fell in love with and found my spirituality and my deepest self in the natural environment.  I did notice and celebrate the seasons, subtle as they were in Southern California.

The point I’m rambling up to is that if we aren’t grateful right where we are and with what we have, then we won’t be when we get the things we think we want or to where we think we want to be.  Just over two years ago, I had left Devon and moved back to the US in a mis-guided attempt to find home and a sense of family.  After a few weeks I realised the futility of my quest and that I felt more ‘me’ in England.  So I returned and spent the better part of the year finding home inside and learning to appreciate my life now, not when or if.  I did have a pretty clear idea of my ideal life and instead of feeling the lack and chasing after it, I decided to be still and make a tiny change in my life every day to expand it and contain what I wanted more of.  I settled into my life in a way that made sense and fit in with who I am.  I gave up the search for where I belong, but shaped the world around me, my world, to belong to me.  It was a big relief and it works!  PS it’s nice for the people around me too.

One of the paradoxes about gratitude is that when one becomes grateful, one isn’t stuck with or settling for their lot.  What happens is that when you feel gratitude for all the good that you have in your life, without even making any efforts you are throwing open wide the doors to bring even more abundance of good things into your life.

I like this quote which seems to be about being grateful always.

“Don’t pray when it rains if you don’t pray when the sun shines.”
– Satchel Paige

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Great post Melinda, (Hi, long time no visit. I’ve been a little pre-occupied of late)…..and you’ve done it again! 🙂 To read your post, I’d swear you were writing about me. This is just what I’ve been thinking about and going through of late. Apart from the upheavals of going through menopause, my life seems so hard at the moment. Strangely (or maybe not!) I’ve started thinking about how I know I need to be focusing on the good and positive things in my life, and building on them………but feeling how hard that is for me to do! Instead, I find myself able only to focus on all the other “rubbish” and that’s what gets built on!! Aaarrgh. Maybe it’s all just part of the change, and I somehow have to find what works for me to start, if only a baby step at a time, bringing that gratitude to the fore.
    Because in the end I know the more positive the thinking the more positive my life, and vice versa.
    It’s the knowing or finding how to start, that’s the hardest part, I suppose. Wish me luck!
    Hope you and Steve have had a wonderful Christmas and the New Year brings you even more happiness and balance in your lives.

    • Pam, nice to ‘see’ you again 😀 It took me a while to write about gratitude. I wasn’t sure what to say or if there is even anything new to say or where to start on such a topic. One worries about being trite or trivial or cliched!
      One exercise that can help you to get started is to write down every day five things that you are grateful for. Good luck and I think that you’ll soon find that you have more to be grateful for than you can imagine.
      I hope you had a happy Christmas and will have a wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

