Flowing with gratitude

Over the past few days, we’ve been taking our Christmas decorations down.  I realise that as well as putting away tinsel, fairy lights and baubles, I am gathering up and storing the shining memories of my first Solstice and Christmas and New Year’s Eve & Day celebrations with Steve in our home.

The other night, I gathered up a handful of golden stars that we had scattered over our dining table.  They are too great to throw away, so I’ve sprinkled them all over the house!

I feel such gratitude for all of the abundance in my life.  I just went on a very interesting etymological walk with abundance.  I found these definitions here.
buddha
abundance
– mid-14c., from O.Fr. abundance (Mod.Fr. abondance), from L. abundantia “fullness,” noun of state from abundans (gen. abundantis), prp. of abundare “to overflow” (see abound)
buddha
abound
– late 14c., from O.Fr. abunder, from L. abundare “overflow, run over,” from L. ab- “off” + undare “rise in a wave,” from unda “water, wave” (see water)
buddha
water
(n. 1) – O.E. wæter, from P.Gmc. *watar , from PIE *wodor/*wedor/*uder-, from root *wed- (cf. Hittite watar, Skt. udnah, Gk. hydor, O.C.S., Rus. voda, Lith. vanduo, O.Prus. wundan, Gael. uisge “water;” L. unda “wave”)
buddha
There was another definition of water (n.2) – measure of quality of a diamond, 1607, from water (n.1), perhaps as a transl. of Arabic ma’ “water,” which also is used in the sense “lustre, splendor.”
buddha
I think that is so cool, that the delicious, juicy word abundance flows back to water, and not just trickling on back in dribbles, but overflowing and abounding, filling – (My cup runneth over, Psalm 23:5).
buddha
And look at where it ends up!  Lustrous, splendid, a measurer of a precious jewel – the diamond.  On a spiritual level, the diamond motif expresses itself in terms of clarity, ascension and wisdom. And when a diamond melts, it flows and becomes the most amazing water.  This is what being filled with gratitude is  – diamond waters and golden stars flowing through me and over me and out to everyone in my world, I hope.
buddha
We receive with our open hands and gently cup what has been given –

buddha
buddha
and let our jewels flow out into the world, into the heavens, everywhere – to create a universe.
buddha
buddha

I love this video about receiving each day as a gift and living gratefully.  Check out gratefulness.org and be inspired.

buddha

Leave a Reply

