Winter dreams of spring

Life has been a bit quiet recently.  The festive holiday season is past and we have settled in for a few more weeks of winter.  The world outside is cold and grey, very beautiful in it’s metallic stillness.  Today we had two snow showers.  It didn’t settle, but was magical while the huge, feathery flakes came shawling out of the heavens and swam and drifted out of the arms and hands and bodies of the trees.  We’re staying warm and snug inside and already have some signs of spring around our flat.

Tete-a-Tete daffodils in a French wire basket

Paperwhite narcissi from our friend Philippa

White hyacinth in my studio

Several days ago, I realised that I am not writing much on either of my blogs or even Facebook.  I am smack in the middle of my online Way of the Monk course, which involves some artmaking and poetry writing.  But I am not producing a whole lot.  The work feels very internal – thoughtful and contemplative.  Very much an inner journey as I consider and explore the sacred aspects of my everyday life and artmaking.   I am getting to know my Inner Monk and Artist.  I am also honouring the rhythms of my creative seasons, hourly, daily and yearly.

Beneath the frozen earth
bulbs dream
of waking
to the promise of springtime

One thought on “Winter dreams of spring

Leave a Reply

