A not so Private View

I sort of snuck in an art exhibition with our wedding.  I’d arranged to hang my quilts in the White Horse Inn, the venue for our soul wedding ceremony next Saturday for a couple of weeks and had somehow forgotten that there would be other people in the restaurant/gallery space too, before and after the wedding.

Our friend Nicky helped us hang the show on Saturday.  The setting is perfect for the size and style of my artwork. We, well actually Steve, from atop a ladder hung the table runners from the rafters and they look great as banners!

Ready to go

I then thought, ‘Oh!  Labels, prices and an artist’s statement are needed here’.   Steve was a huge help with this and suggested I put a ‘1’ in front of my prices, proofed my descriptions and helped with my statement:

When I was looking for descriptions of my art quilts, I was chagrined to discover that so much of my work is not on my website.  I really must have my website re-vamped this summer.  And I will!

I had told a couple of people about it and we realised that it would be a good idea to make up some flyers to put up in the village, otherwise it would be such a private view that no one would be there.  I also made an event on Facebook and invited a few of my Devon-based friends.

Do you know that literally, I used to hide my quilts under my bed ten years ago.  I had to really trust the first people I showed my artwork to.  I have shown my work before in quilt shows, in a group show in a gallery in Scotland and in a quilt shop.  But this is really the first time I’ve stood on my own with my artwork in a “mainstream” gallery setting.  I think I would have been too daunted before, but this felt very organic and relaxed and more about making a beautiful setting for our wedding and reception than showboating my artwork.  But, “By the way, everyone else come along and have a look too!”  As Steve said, “A show created just for our wedding, but one which will be seen again in other venues”.

The private view was a lot of fun.  Steve was my paparrazo and kept the wineglasses topped up.  I knew everyone who came along and while most of them know that I am an artist, they hadn’t seen my work before.  So it was my debut into the community where I live as an artist.

Desert River Goddess

Although I can be shy about promoting myself and my artwork, I felt really relaxed and love talking to people about all of the aspects of my artwork – the inspiration, construction techniques and stories behind my artqork.

Showing the back of Solstice Moon

'Mifflin goes to Lancaster' & 'Ivory Fish'

Celestial Jewelbox

In the quiet moments before the guests arrived, Steve photographed my in front of ‘Ver Sacrum’ (Holy Spring).

One thought on “A not so Private View

  1. It looks amazing, a brilliant space for your artwork! Very best wishes to you and Steve for your soul wedding ceremony next Saturday. Hope the sun shines for it!

    Nicky. Xx

Leave a Reply

