Thanksgiving

Today, Thursday 25th November, is the American Thanksgiving holiday.  A feast day where family and friends come together to share food, to enjoy each other’s company and to give thanks for whatever blessings and abundance in our life we wish to focus upon.

Selfridges, Bullring, Birmngham

This morning, Steve and I went out for breakfast in Birmingham and I got the train back home, while Steve went on to another part of England for his work.  At the train station, I fell into conversation with a lovely Indian woman named Anandhi, an Economics professor, who after living in Boston for many years now lives in the Midlands.  She was on her way to Bristol to give a talk on her research on affirmative action in Indian politics.  She wished me a happy Thanksgiving and told me of her plans to have a dinner with her husband and some friends this weekend.  I shared our plans to make our Thanksgiving dinner a ‘moveable feast’ this year when we go to London this Saturday to cook and eat with my American cousins living there.

What Anandhi and I both love about Thanksgiving is its inclusiveness.  While Christmas is more of a family holiday, at Thanksgiving everyone is invited to join the table.  She asked if I have managed to find graham crackers over here and I said that digestive biscuits are a good substitute.   The train arrived and we parted from our very nice, brief encounter.

In my SOMA forum, Christine has invited us to think about and share what makes our hearts sing with gratitude in this quiet time before the rush of the holiday season.  As the train travelled through the beautiful English countryside, the landscape unfolded in it’s wintry aspect.  Frost lingered in dark pockets of shadow, the bright sunshine and deep shade carved fascinating shapes on the passing farm buildings and villages, tree and hedgerow-cast shadows undulated across the now fallow fields and the bare branches of the winter trees gave their secrets up to the sky, where birds flew along their invisible aerial routes.

Today, I felt gratitude for a chance encounter with a lovely person, the beautiful early winter day and to be travelling back home.  I couldn’t imagine that things could be any better than they are now.  This was great, as I seem to spend a lot of time improving on things, either in real time or in my imagination.  As my husband Steve often says, “It’s all good.”  Today, I was able to really feel that ‘all is well’ with no ‘buts or ifs’.  This feeling of peace is truly something to be thankful for.  The specific blessings will change from time to time, but I hope to court this feeling that all is right with my world and welcome it to the table every day.

Leave a Reply

