Suncast Shadows in progress

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been two whole weeks since I last wrote.  I’d thought the deadline for my Suncast Shadows quilt was February 31st, but re-read my paperwork and it’s due on the 13th.  Ooops!  So I’ve been focussing on getting it done and have an appointment for it to be photographed this Saturday.  I haven’t taken many work in progress photos, but here are a few over the past several weeks.

Placing people onto the painted and partially stitched cotton organdie surface in my studio .  .  .  .  .

Design wall

I’ve had this photo inside of me for such a long time (I took it on January 1st, 2007) that  I feel as though I know some of the people in it.  I printed several of them onto white organdie and fused them onto the quilt.

A couple between shadows

This pair stuck to my slipper and followed me into the kitchen, where I’ve put them up on our notice board so they can see into my life.

I’ve been sewing in the living room, which has great south-facing picture windows .  .  .  .  .

Sunlight coming through reflected tree branches .  .  .  .  .

Edwardian lamp-post, fused and ready to be stitched .  .  .  .  .

Stitching the bars along the railing  .  .  .  .  .

Today, I painted and made marks on the surface with fabric pastels & paint and fibre tip pens.  Finally, I hand-lettered the haiku onto the bottom of the piece.  Very pleased with how it came out too! I think I’ll save that process for a separate post.

I’m going to leave it until tomorrow evening when I’ll work some more on the River Thames and the big rain puddle on the pavement.  Then all I have to do it square it up, finish the edges and decide how to make the hanging sleeve.

Leave a Reply

