Man pleasers

Steve didn’t marry me for my housekeeping skills.  Cooking, yes, cleaning, no.  Yet, he’d been away all week for his work and was due back by mid-evening on Friday.  Our salon and kitchen were still in studio mode.  I’d been working all day on the edges of my quilt in preparation for quilting it over the weekend.

So by 7pm, I decided to do a quick tidy up of the kitchen and get a hot meal on the stove.  We were on a protein vegetable (PV) day and the temperature had dropped more than a few degrees.   I was in the mood for something beefy, hearty and spicy and I figured that Steve would concur.  Remember those ‘man pleaser’ dishes from the 1950’s?

Velveeta Cheese

Knox Gelatine

I concocted a hot vegetable sauce to serve over grilled beef burgers and Portobello muchrooms.  Apparently Dukan says it’s OK to have 1 teaspoon of oil a day, so we don’t get too crispy.  I use mine for cooking.

Burgers Portobello with Red Hot Mama’s Pepper Sauce

  • 500g packet of lean beef mince
  • Jalapeno peppers to taste, chopped
  • Spring onions, diced
  • Egg
  • Salt & pepper
  • Portobello mushrooms, 2 per person
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • 1 red bell pepper/capsicum, sliced lengthwise
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 fresh medium spicy chili peppers, sliced thin
  • Crushed red pepper, to taste
  • 1 can/pack chopped tomatoes, undrained

For the burgers, mix together the beef, chopped jalepenos and spring onions.  Mix with the egg and shape into patties.

Spray a frying pan with little oil and sweat the onions and peppers.

Season with crushed red pepper and stir in the tomatoes.  Let it simmer and thicken for a while.

Steve usually rings when he leaves the motorway, at which point I heated up the grill.  I drizzled the mushrooms, gill side up with balsamic vinegar and a little olive oil.  I grilled them alongside the burgers for about 4-6 minutes on each side, and sprayed the mushrooms with oil when I turned then over.  By this point, the balsamic had insinuated itself into the gills, so didn’t drip out.

I served it with some Tabasco and Frank’s Red Hot Cayenne Pepper Sauce on the side.

Wow! Was it ever good.

Steve was pleased too.

Over the meal, I reminisced about some other good hamburger based dishes.  It turns out that Steve’s never had a chili omelette, an American breakfast favourite.  The next day was a Protein day, so we started with a huge omelette stuffed with scrambled hamburger and Red Hot Mama’s Pepper Sauce.  I slipped in some non-phat Philly to give it some creaminess.

Red Hot Mama's Omelette

Leave a Reply

