Universe-issued Mattress

I’m a great believer in politely requesting help from the Universe.  I know that when my ego can take a step back, that ‘what is meant to be’ has the space to flourish. I also know that sometimes I need more assistance than my small self can muster up on it’s own.

I’ve long had this quote from Goethe on my studio wall:

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy,
the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness.
Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation),
there is one elementary truth
the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans.

The moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too.
All sorts of things occur to help one
that would never otherwise have occurred.
A whole stream of events issues from the decision,
raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents
and meetings and material assistance,
which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.

Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.”

– Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

I know some cynical, logical realists who put it down to NLP and that ‘if you plant the idea in your subconcious, you notice things subliminally which help you reach your goals’.  Maybe that’s part of it, but I’m a firm believer in Magic and Universal Assistance.  When I say magic, I mean the manner in which we can shape our thoughts, feelings and expectations, and the knowledge that this internal re-orientation can amazingly influence our world and the people around us.

So, onto the mattress.  I needed a mattress for ‘Enter the Forest of Dreams’.  It originally had a mattress & box spring from the cannibalised French Provincial bed, but it wasn’t very good quality so I got rid of it several years ago when I put the frame into storage.  In the UK, there are ‘divan beds’ comprised of a high, firm base supporting a mattress, but they’re way too high.  I asked our carpenter about making a base from wood, but it would be quite heavy and a bit pricey.  Likewise, I asked at a bed shop, but it would take 2 weeks to have it made.  And my Open Studio was just 3 weeks away.  Too close for comfort, plus I wanted the mattress on the bed now, so I could get my quilt dimensions just right.

The other week, Steve and I hired a van to get the frame out of storage.  On the way to get the van, we passed a British Heart Foundation furniture charity shop.  I asked Steve to double park and I ran in to see if they had any mattresses. They did and I borrowed a tape measure and wrote down prices & measurements.

We picked up the van, got the bed frame, took it home and assembled it.

So I was able to get an accurate measurement for the mattress height.  I consulted my list and we went back to get the one bed set which came to exactly 2″ below my quilt.  It’s good quality and barely used, probably an ex spare room bed.  It had little 6″ legs to give it height, which I just unscrewed.

I love it when things just fall into place like this!  It reminds me that the Universe and I conspire together to make things happen.

Conspire seems to have a slightly sinister definition (relating to conspiracy)

1. To plan together secretly to commit an illegal or wrongful act or accomplish a legal purpose through illegal action.

But I like this definition:

2. To join or act together; combine

After all, when we look into the etymology of conspire, here is what we find:

Conspire, late 14c., from O.Fr. conspirer (14c.), from L. conspirare, lit. “to breathe together,” from com- “together” + spirare “to breathe”

Source: Online Etymology Dictionary

Leave a Reply

