Thanks for a Big Weekend!

Gosh!  I only took about 5 pictures this weekend.  We had the Moreton Festival of Food, Drink and the Arts and my Open Studio was on the Arts Trail.

It was great.  There was a Private View at our place on Friday night.  At the end of it, there were five of us.  I donned my pith helmet and made newspaper hats for my crew and declared the first meeting of the Royal International Psychogeographic Society of Creative Explorers.

Lady Jayne, me, the Notable Steve Coxon, the Hon. John Mostyn & Sir Alan Bennett aka 'Twood'

On Saturday, we saw many familiar faces and met some lovely new people amongst our guests.  ‘Enter the Forest of Dreams’ looked good.  Here it was the day before, nearly in it’s place.  I hope that anyone who took photos of it and blogs might send a link my way.

About six of our wonderful friends came in and out during the day to help steward, greet our visitors,  and serve tea, coffee and American coffee cake in our kitchen. I sold my last Harris tweed and dupioni silk cafetiere cover, and was commissioned to make custom-sized ones, by two different couples.

'Summertime' couvert à cafetiere, screenprinted and quilted tafetta

Steve and I got out for around an hour to forage in the food stalls.  Our top buy was some amazing, very thinly sliced minute steaks and Portobello mushrooms.  Steve grilled these later on with Leonardi balsamic vinegar, so sweet, you could eat it with a spoon.

When we got back, I talked to a lovely couple from South Devon.  They fell in love with Southbank Stories and it has gone to a new place to tell of Big Ben, the Tate Modern and late winter afternoons by the Thames.

I sold two brooches to a couple from Moscow, one will be given as a gift. Oh yeah! and one to a woman whose daughter lives across from the Battersea Power Station, of the Battersea Power Station.  I knew someone would choose it one day!  I’m actually thinking of selling these online.  Both the accordion books and the brooches; they travel light and take reminders or tokens of one place to another place.  Maybe even the couvertures de cafetiere?

Southbank Brooches, silk.

I also spoke to a couple of woodworkers about some of my ideas for a 3D armature/frame to hold some big pieces of fibre art.  It’s great to think about the convergence of people and ideas from all over at our place this weekend.  It feels cleansing.

I certainly feel fired up about putting finishing touches on my bed, designing and making some big pieces, doing more with my photography, getting ready for a couple of really big shows later on this year.

A huge ‘Thank You’ to everyone who came to visit and helped to make it such a great weekend!  Wishing you many creative explorations and discoveries.

One thought on “Thanks for a Big Weekend!

Leave a Reply

