Dukan Dodecahedrons & Patties

Since I’ve moved onto the Consolidation Phase and Steve is still on the Cruise Phase, we’ve been coordinating our meals together.  For instance, last night, I had a Patty Melt and Steve had a Patty with Grilled Onions.  A Patty Melt, for those of you who don’t know, is an American diner sandwich consisting of a grilled hamburger patty, grilled onions, melted Swiss or Cheddar cheese served on toasted rye bread.  I grilled the burgers and onions together, then used my daily ration of bread, butter and cheese to complete my Patty Melt.

Patty Melt & Patty

Today, we’re having a Protein Day.  I’m down to one of these a week and Steve is still every other day.  I let my Protein Day float around a bit so that Steve and I can share them.  Sometimes I even have two a week.  What the heck, it’s a movable feast and I’m very happy to graze on meat.

Bowl of cubed ham

We’re having Asian Meatballs from the Dukan Diet Recipe Book for dinner.  Only they came out shaped more like dodecahedrons and didn’t want to roll around in the pan, so I turned them with a pair of tongs to brown them evenly.

Asian Meatballs

  • 500g minced beef
  • some cooking oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sherry vinegar or Madeira
  • ½ beef stock cube
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • ½ grated ginger
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cornflour

Shape the meat into small meatballs and brown on all sides in a non-stick skillet over a high heat, then put them to one side.  Deglaze the pan with the water, then add all of  the other ingredients, except the cornflour.  Mix well and return the meatballs to the pan, adding water if necessary so the meatballs sit in the sauce, but are not completely covered.

Cook for 10 minutes until the meatballs are cooked right through.  Blend the cornflour with a little lquid and add to the sauce to thicken it it.

Dukan Dodecahedrons

In case you don’t know, a dodecahedron is a mathematical shape with 12 sides.  I know this from reading The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster.

“He was constructed (for that’s really the only way to describe him) of a large assortment of lines and angles connected together into one solid many-sided shape—somewhat like a cube that’s had all its corners cut off and then had all its corners cut off again. Each of the edges was neatly labeled with a small letter, and each of the angles with a large one. He wore a handsome beret on top, and peering intently from one of his several surfaces was a very serious face.
Perhaps if you look at the picture you’ll know what I mean. “

“My angles are many.
My sides are not few.
I’m the Dodecahedron.
Who are you?”

Leave a Reply

