Runnin’ Down a Dream

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, 1977

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers are my favourite rock band, ever since my big sister gave me a copy of their debut album in 1977 when I inherited her Pioneer stereo.  I was 14 and have grown up over the past 34 years  listening to their music.

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, 1976, album cover.

I was pretty excited when I saw an ad in The Guardian that they’d be playing at The Royal Albert Hall this June on their first UK tour in 20 years.  I had to work the day tickets went on sale, but I left Steve with strict instructions to get online and at the end of the phone at 9am.  He did his best, but tickets sold out in about 10 minutes.  I tried to be philosophical and not too bummed about it.  After all, I’d seen Tom and the boys at The Hollywood Bowl in the mid 1990’s and again in Raleigh, NC in 2002.  As a consolation prize, we bought Peter Bogdanovich’s excellent documentary on The Heartbreakers, “Runnin’ Down a Dream”.

We watched Part One and a week later, planned to watch Part Two.  I was on Facebook and decided to post the documentary trailer beforehand.  I found it on YouTube and somewhat cynically clicked the ‘On Tour 2012 Buy Tickets’ button.  It took me to the Official Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ website.  I trawled around in the Tour Dates area and saw that there was a show in Cork, Ireland on 6/8/2012.  I said “Whoa, they’re coming back in August!”  Steve said “Are you sure it’s not June 8th?”.  Ya see, I’m in the middle of two cultures and sometimes forget that the US and the UK transpose the month and day.

Anyhow, long story short, a Cork show had been added in June after their Dublin show.  Tickets went on sale the next day and we got ourselves two of ’em! I’m officially stoked.

So we’re planning a road trip to Southern Ireland for our 2nd wedding anniversary.  Steve got a MP3 adaptor for his car cassette deck so we can spin Tom Petty tunes all the way.

Night Driver

‘Night Driver’ was the first one I played.  It’s one of my favourites from the Highway Companion album.

 

Leave a Reply

