Confessions of a Dukan Slut

When we first started on the Dukan Caper, I decided to get all of my info from the web.  But then bought The Dukan Diet book, just so I could have a ready reference.  I then bought The Dukan Diet Recipe Book.  Well, once we decided to commit to it, we wanted some recipes.  There are a lot on the internet, but they’re not very well formatted nor user friendly.  One has to really sort the wheat from the chaff.  Once I got my head around it, I became able to adapt and Dukanise many of my favourite recipes too.

This all felt OK.  I did go onto the Dukan Diet website to have my ‘True Weight’ calculated.  Which led to eNewsletters.  Which led to perusing the online shop.  I must admit, I felt a bit cheap when I broke down and placed an order from the Dukan Shop in France.  I bought some Hazelnut Oat Bran Biscuits.  I had found a biscuit recipe I liked, but they were very chewy and I wanted some crunch.  Steve and I like the biscuits a LOT, but they’re £3.85 for 18.  I found a pretty good recipe for some crunchies, which I made yesterday and am going to give it a tweak and try again.  I also bought a bottle of Maya Vinaigrette (sheer laziness) and some Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (aka Dukanella?).

The vinaigrette I found a bit weak, but it’s handy to pop onto the dinner table.   I had some of the Dukanella with non-phat Philly on a slice of wholewheat toast yesterday (I’m in the Consolidation Phase).  It wasn’t Nutella, but not bad at all.

My latest and I hope final Dukan purchase is his latest book, which didn’t seem to be around back in January.  It’s much more user-friendly than the original Dukan Diet book, consolidates all of the informaiton on all four phases in an easy to read format, plus it’s hardback so will stay open when I cook the fab looking (with pictures!) recipes in the back.  Although there is a French language verison of a Dukan dessert book I may have to check out.

Plus, the French National Order of Doctors has lodged two complaints challenging  the Good Doctor on grounds that he is  breaking the medical code of practice and treating medicine “like a business”.  He has a month to submit his written defence to the CNOM’s disciplinary council. If found guilty, he could be struck off.  So I figure he needs all he support he can get!

BTW, I’m about to complete my 4th week of the Consolidation Phase and I’ve lost 2 kilos more than my original goal (now at 52 kilos).  It’s a bit freaky because I’m not trying to.  Oh well, five weeks to go and I hope to stablise out at my goal of 54 kilos.

Leave a Reply

