100,000,000,000,000,000 ants can’t be wrong

Edward O. Wilson, mymecologist and Pulitzer prize winner, estimates that there are between ten to the sixteenth and ten to the seventeenth ants in the world.

Edward O. Wilson and friends

I saw this photo on Facebook a few weeks ago.

57 out of 61 ants prefer butter

When I got into the Dukan Consolidation Phase several weeks ago, I thought I’d be PC and get a reduced fat butterish spread for my morning toast.  So I got Lurpak Lightest Spreadable.  I should have been tipped off by the fact that it’s not even called butter.  The ingredients are as follows: Butter (27%), Water, Vegetable Oil (19%), Lactic Culture, Milk Protein, Salt (1%), Preservative (Potassium Sorbate).  It was OK, but I was perturbed when I tried to melt a pat of it in a saute pan and it didn’t.  Melt that is. The other ingredients are benign, but it wasn’t quite right.

Since I’ve been living in the UK, I always get spreadable butter, because the ambient kitchen temperature is so darn cool that when stick butter is at room temp, it’s still too hard to spread.  So now I’ve gone onto Lurpak Spreadable which is 89% butter and I can cook with it, if necessary.  I’m still not using as much as when I used to do full on French cooking, but butter does make a difference.  I use President unsalted butter for cooking and to flavour my popcorn.

'We demand butter'

Movie still:  Them, 1954

Leave a Reply

