Grey Matter

I am about to go to bed, but I just want to share this song with a wider audience.  I saw Oingo Boingo in 1984 in the gym of CSU, Fullerton when I was 21.  They were a great new band at the time.   Sam Phipps was backlit and it cast this amazing shadow on the wall of him balling the jack and blowing the sax.   I danced like a dervish and got completely sweaty.  Everyone was dancing.  It was great.

Any how I just listened to this song Grey Matter.  It had the most amazing syncopation and counterpoint melodies which makes it very danceably interesting.  The lyrics are angry and smart.  And who knew how cool a xylophone solo could be?

I like the way it ends too.

Leave a Reply

