Jubilee!

This might be all I have to offer for the time being.  Steve and I are off to the Emerald Isle tomorrow for about a week.  We’re taking a laptop and camera of course and staying at places with wi-fi (when we’re not camping) but I’m not sure how much I’ll be blogging.

We’re in the middle of the Jubilee Bank Holiday Weekend.  I feel privileged to be living in the UK and to be celebrating the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.  We hooked up the telly and watched part of the live broadcast of the Thames River Pageant.  Then we went out to the Moretonhampstead Street Party for a little while.  (I took my brolly).

Jubilee Street Party

Fore Street, towards St. Andrews Church, Jubilee Street Party

Then we came back home to watch the end of the Jubilee Pageant.  I was moved to tears by the finale when the last vessel sailed past the Queen.  This vessel carried members of the London Philharmonic Orchestra and singers, and when they sang ‘Land of Hope and Glory’, I dissolved into tears and remembered why I emigrated to the United Kingdom.  I feel proud to be British, by proxy.

One thought on “Jubilee!

Leave a Reply

