PP Day

Yesterday we had a Pure Protein day, which is one of the weekly things a Dukaneer must do in perpetuity.   I confess that I haven’t been doing this as rigorously as I should.  I have been managing weekly PNP (Pretty near Protein) days however.  But yesterday was the Real McCoy.

BTW, I ended my Consolidation phase about seven weeks ago and have stayed whippet lean, so this diet really does work.  Mainly because my eating habits have changed for the better.  For instance, when Steve and I were in Ireland, on about 3 – 4 days we found a corner shop and bought some cooked chicken or ham for our lunch.  Lunchtime restaurant menus are so carb heavy.  But I digress.

I started my PP day with Faux Malt-o-Meal since it was a chilly, grey day.

Chocolate Malt-o-Meal is one of my favourite hot cereals and I’ve made a tasty Dukan version.

Faux Malt-o-Meal

  • 3 tablespoons oat bran
  • 1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa powder (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon Truvia
  • ¾ cup skimmed milk

Put the dry ingredients in a pan, stir in the milk.  Cook over medium heat until thickened. Whenever I cook hot cereal, I remember being a kid and my Mom holding me when she made oatmeal so I could see the bubbling mudpots, just like we saw at Yellowstone National Park.

Mudpots

Let stand covered for a few minutes. Serve.

“Keeps you warm on the inside when it’s cold on the outside”

Later on, I went out to the hardware shop and saw that the mobile fish monger was in town.

I bought some skate wings (which we’ve never eaten).

Dorsal and ventral view of a Big Skate

Apparently, many fishermen consider skate ‘garbage fish‘ and usually toss them back, but skate has been making a mouth-watering appearance on the dinner table for a number of years.  They’re beautiful, like angel wings.  I got two for £3.25.

There are lots of great recipes, the French classic being pan-fried with beurre noisette (brown butter) and capers.  I adapted the method for our Dukan day.

Grilled Skate Wing with Capers and Lemon

  • One skate wing per person
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Lemon
  • Capers

I seasoned the wings and sprayed them with some olive oil, then grilled them on parchment paper for 5 minutes on one side and 3 minutes on the other.  A squeeze lemon juice and a sprinkle of capers to finish and voila! the perfect first course.

They were very tasty indeed.  A bit odd to eat, because the striations you can see in the photo are strands of cartilage, so we scraped the meat off.  The flesh was delicious with a velvety texture.  The lemon juice and capers made a good contrast to the sweetmess of the meat.

We followed this with grilled rump steak, which I haven’t pictured here.  We all know what a perfectly cooked steak looks like, right?

Image source – Florida Museum of Natural History

Leave a Reply

