awakening

I love my daytime life in which I’ve arranged it so that I don’t need to leave the house until 9:45 am on the days when I need to be somewhere.  This means I don’t have to get up until 8:30 am!

The first things I see when I wake in the slowly lightening room are glowing luna moths and the luminous moon on our marriage quilt.

The luna moths we bought at a flea market on our 1st wedding anniversary in Aix-en-Provence, we chose and framed some of our wedding photos and I made the Marc Chagall inspired quilt, Le Mariage du Fleuve et du Ciel, during our first year of marriage.

We bought a DAB clock radio a few weeks ago.  I don’t actually use it for an alarm because I generally awaken around 7 o’clock.  I do switch it on though and listen to classical music on Radio 3.

Then, I get up and make (or lie in bed and have made for me!) a cup of tea in my favourite mug.  I prop myself up and  select from the ever-changing pile of books next to my side of the bed.

This morning it was a delectation from ‘Mud’, a book of voluptuous short stories by Michèle Roberts.

At some point, I raise the shade and watch the tree outside.  It inhales and exhales; birds dart in and out of it’s branches or trace lazy loops in the sky above it.  The maribou stole is from my wedding ensemble.

Angel wings at my window

Whenever I decide to get up, I throw open the window and lean out to see what the cows are up to and what the day is bringing.

Showery sunrise over Mardon Down

And then, I go about my day.

Leave a Reply

