Chills on a summer day

Grey skies are back and I’m down for the count with a cold.  I normally resent being sick in the summertime when the skies are blue and the sun shines hot.  But when the skies are low and close and rainy, is suits me to stay inside and take long naps and putter gently about the house.

I’ve been watching martens and swallows swoop and wheel above the rooftops and jackdaws taking the morning air.

Three jackdaws on a foggy morning

‘Our’ jackdaws seem to be back.  The double chimney just outside our living room window is usually home to two pairs of jackdaws.  They’ve been away for the past couple of months, but I’ve spotted one or two over the past several days, so perhaps they’ve returned from their travels.

1920’s and 30’s jazz is among my favourite genres of music.  I’ve recently ‘discovered’ Sidney Bichet, an American jazz saxophonist, clarinetist, and composer.  I listened to his version of Summertime yesterday.  This gives me chills everytime I listen to it.

And I don’t think it’s just me coming down from my fever.

Now, time to curl up with a bowl of orange slices and warm up with a hard-boiled potboiler.

Leave a Reply

