Equanimity

I’ve been a student of the Enneagram for about 4 years with UK-based teacher Karen Webb.   I’m a Type 4 – The Artist or The Romantic.  I can’t possibly (nor would I attempt to)  go into an in-depth explanation here.  Briefly, the Enneagram is a model of human personality which is principally used as a typology of nine interconnected personality types, which are represented by the points of a geometric figure called an Enneagram.  I think of it like the Meyers-Briggs, but with many multi-facets and spiritual depths.

The Enneagram

The virtue of my type is Equanimity – mental calmness, composure, and evenness of temper, especially in a difficult situation.

About three years ago I had designed a new fibre art piece with the words ‘As it is on Earth, so it is in Heaven’.  The piece would combine stones and feathers, opaque and transparent material.  A synthesis of seeming opposites, but balanced.  The words surprised me, as they come from the Lord’s Prayer.  I’m not mainstream religious and don’t care much at all for Christian texts.

I went to a 3 day workshop with Karen Webb before I started to make the piece.  Unusually, there was a representative of each of the nine Enneagram types among the participants.  At the end of the workshop, Karen recited the Lord’s Prayer to illustrate that each line corresponds to the virtue, or gift, contained in each of the types.  Lo and behold, mine was the very line I had chosen for my piece, or had it chosen me?

Anyhow, following the workshop, I made the piece which I call Equanimity as a gift for someone who is a Type Four.  It is made from bleached mulberry bark, beach-gathered slate, two layers of silk organza and seabird feathers.  The words are written in metallic silver paint.

Bleached mulberry bark, slate and wire

Seabird feather and white bead

so it is in heaven

I used a clear perspex lath to hang it from so it could be in front of a window or a light source.  The threads from the feathers dangle several inches below the piece.

I like the juxtaposition of earth and air, and the combination of materials.

Leave a Reply

