Sea Salted Caramel Brownies (with optional Peanuts)

I love the taste of salt, caramel and chocolate all together.  I’ve made these brownies a couple of times in the last two weeks and so has everybody I’ve shared them with.  These are actually the best brownies I’ve ever had.  I clipped the recipe out of The Guardian a few months ago.

Salted Caramel Brownies

For the salted caramel

  • 90g golden caster sugar
  • 60ml double cream
  • ¼ tsp sea salt flakes
  • 60g unsalted butter, cubed

For the brownies

  • 200g dark chocolate (at least 70% cocoa solids), broken into pieces
  • 250g unsalted butter
  • 4 large eggs
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 150g light brown soft sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 120g plain flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp sea salt flakes
  • 20g cocoa powder

Start with the caramel: tip the sugar into a heavy-based pan and add two tablespoons of water. Heat gently, stirring only until the sugar dissolves, then turn the heat to medium-high and let the syrup come to the boil undisturbed.

Simmer briskly, swirling the pan occasionally but never stirring, until the caramel turns a rich amber.

Remove from the heat, stir in the cream and salt, then the butter, and set aside to cool.

Now for the brownies. Line a 9″ x 12″ (23cm x 32cm) brownie tin with nonstick baking parchment. Heat the oven to 190C/375F.

I bought Green & Black’s Organic Baking Chocolate and used Maldon Sea Salt for this venture.

Melt the chocolate and butter over a pan of simmering water and set aside to cool.  Julia Child advocates using a purple spoon to introduce that certain je ne sais quoi into the kitchen.  It’s true!

I normally use my kitchen scales when baking from a non-American recipe.

Beat the eggs, sugars and vanilla in an electric mixer (or with a whisk) until increased in volume. Sift in the flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa, pour in the melted chocolate and butter, and beat briefly to combine.

Scrape half the mixture into the tin and dot teaspoonfuls of salted caramel over the surface. Cover with the remaining brownie mix and top with more teaspoonfuls of caramel.

Slide into the oven and immediately reduce the temperature to 180C/350F. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until almost firm in the middle. When cool, turn out and cut into 18 bars.

Got milk?

At this point, you may be thinking that I forgot about the Peanuts.  Well, I haven’t.

I used four eggs for this recipe.

When I took my clutch of egg shells to the compost bucket,

I thought about Linus perpetually forgetting to take his eggshells to school.

I loved Peanuts when I was a kid and Linus is my favourite character.

4 thoughts on “Sea Salted Caramel Brownies (with optional Peanuts)

Leave a Reply

