Protein Tuesday

Since coming off of the Dukan Diet proper, Steve and I observe a ‘Protein Day’ once a week, normally on a weekday.  This apparently keeps our set point in check and, believe me, it’s no great hardship to spend a day devoted to protein.  The other thing we’re ‘supposed’ to do, in perpetuity, is have 3 tablespoons of oat bran a day.  (I believe that Dukan has shares in the stuff). We haven’t stuck to this on a daily basis, but I have oat bran on our Protein Day.

This morning I made a Dukan version of my favourite childhood hot cereal, Chocolate Malt-O-Meal.  I mix together 3 tablespoons of oat bran, a teaspoon each of Stevia and Cabury’s Bourneville Cocoa Powder and ¾ cup of skimmed milk.

protein Tuesday1

And cook it over medium heat for about 5 minutes.

protein Tuesday4

Yummy and a nice start to the day, especially in wintertime.

PP Day5

Alternatively, I have the oat bran mixed into non-fat yoghurt.

Lunch was leftover grilled chicken breast cut into chunks.  I can graze at my job, so it’s very handy to have close to hand (and mouth).  Sometimes I have ham and/or beef jerky.

protein Tuesday5

Tonight’s dinner was a beautifully marbled piece of rump steak,

protein Tuesday6

grilled, with some onions cooked in beef stock.

protein Tuesday7

Our weekly Protein Day is a moveable feast.  Tomorrow is Spinning Wednesday (I go to a spinning class at the gym, so need my carbs) and Thursday is Cupcake Thursday (more on that later!) so this week, Protein Tuesday it is.

Leave a Reply

