The Cupcake Lady Vanishes

Unlike most Dukaneers, Steve and I do not have our Protein Day on a Thursday, because I usually stop in at the Exeter Farmer’s Market on the way to work and buy a cupcake to have with a cuppa. They’re great, with a moist sponge and thick buttercream frosting.  I became a repeat customer and the Cupcake Lady was very impressed that an American gave them top marks.

Flowery Vanilla

Flowery Vanilla

Dolly Mixture

Dolly Mixture

Oreo

Oreo

I was thwarted last Cupcake Thursday because the Cupcake Lady is no longer there.  No one knows where she’s gone to either.  Well, I haven’t been since New Year as I was off sick for such a long time; I was obviously her best customer.

So I made pomegranate and lime cupcakes on Saturday.  I found the recipe in the Observer Food Monthly from South African cook & blogger Claire Wilson @ Under the Blue Gum Tree.  I had a pomegranate that I’d been given at Christmas time.  It was by now a couple of months old and the skin had toughened somewhat, so I had to saw through it with a serrated knife.  The seeds and juice were a deep, rich ruby colour.  They seemed to have matured and were steeped in wisdom.  I love the myth of Persephone & Demeter and I always think of journeying to the Underworld when I eat pomegranates.

pomegranate5

pomegranate1

Pomegranate and Lime Cupcakes

For the batter

  • 65g unsalted butter, softened
  • 90g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 100g plain flour
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 60ml sour cream
  • 3 tbsp pomegranate juice
  • Zest of 1 lime

For the icing

  • 135g icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp pomegranate juice
  • Pomegranate seeds and lime zest

1 Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/gas mark 4 and line a muffin tin with 8 fairy cake cases.

2 Cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy and very pale. Stir in the egg. Sift the flour and bicarbonate of soda together and add to the mixture, along with the cream and juice. Mix to make a soft, smooth batter, then fold through the zest.

3 Divide the mixture between the fairy cake cases and bake for 20 minutes until risen and springy to the touch. Leave to cool.

4 Beat the icing sugar and juice together until smooth. Dollop a teaspoon on top of each cake and spread with a palette knife. Decorate with pomegranate seeds and a few shreds of lime zest.

The icing was a bit too splodgy, so I beat in a couple of tablespoons of room temperature butter and dolloped it on to the cupcakes.  They were very good indeed!

pomegranate2

Leave a Reply

