Key to the Clan House

Last week I took some keys to my drawing class.  A person should always have at least one key on their journey.  You never know when you will encounter a door, just the very door that you need to enter.  Unless you have the correct key, or word, you will not get through.

I found these lovely French keys at the Totnes Market, three for a fiver.  They are not merely stamped from metal, but have been crafted and have the hand of the maker on them.  They feel very good to hold.

keys2

When I drew them I really noticed all of the detail.  The bows (top part with a hole) are beveled and the shafts are ridged with rings.

keys1

Keys, charcoal, 42 x 59 cm, 2013

The bit (part that goes inside the keyhole) on this one has a doorway in it.

keys6

Next, I drew just the bit.  It looked very stark on the paper at first.  It had to become a house in the winter woods with a chimney and clan animals on the outside.

keys3

Clan House, charcoal, 42 x 59 cm, 2013

I’m still working on this one.  I’m learning about what exactly charcoal does on paper and how to make deep night woods and what the judicious application of a rubber can do.keys4

I wonder what or whom I’ll find inside?

Leave a Reply

