Courage to create

To celebrate Dia de los Muertos and to give an opportunity for all of us to honour a person who has given us the courage to create, I am giving away an ‘El Corazon’ Magical Card Case’ on my Inspiraculum Facebook page.

The etymology of the word “courage” is derived from the Latin word “cor” which means “heart.” To have courage gives one the ability to do things which one finds frightening.

“Courage is not the absence of fear. It is acting in spite of it.”
— Mark Twain

Your person could be a teacher, parent or friend you have known, or an artist, living or not, whose work or life story has encouraged you.

I have many encouragers, but today, if I close my eyes and move into my heartspace, it is Frida Kahlo.

Frida Kahlo was an incredibly amazing woman. Her life was filled with physical as well as emotional pain. She put her emotions into her painting, and as it were, she wore her heart on her canvas. Her work is a rare blend of true emotion, heartbreak, love, and life, as well as death. Most of her paintings were self-portraits. She said, “I paint self-portraits because I am the person I know best. I paint my own reality. The only thing I know is that I paint because I need to, and I paint whatever passes through my head without any other considerations.” Her paintings are very open and honest. They reflect her emotions, the events in her life, changes in her feelings – whether good or bad. She recorded her life in paint. Her imagery and style were very original, dramatic, and courageous.

Her husband, the famous Mexican muralist Diego Rivera, said: “Frida is the only example in the history of art of an artist who tore open her chest and heart to reveal the biological truth of her feelings. The only woman who has expressed in her work an art of the feelings, functions, and creative power of woman.”

A painting of hers which I find particularly powerful is ‘Las dos Fridas’.

Las-dos-Fridas

Las dos Fridas, 1939

This double self-portrait shows the identity conflict between the two sides of her heritage, the European-influence and the Mexican-influence.  Holding her own hand, she is her only companion.

This is the Magical Card Case that I am giving away via my Facebook Inspiraculum page, inspired by the folk art of Mexico.

Mexican loteria card printed onto cotton with a silver milagro

Mexican loteria card printed onto cotton with a silver milagro

The card rises to the top when the silver milagro is pulled.  Magic!  A little compartment at the back is handy for a credit card, driving license, Oyster card, etc.

If you would like to take part, simply ‘Like’ my Facebook page and write the name of a person, dead or alive, known or unknown to you, in the comment box beneath the photo on my FB page.  I will announce the winner on my Facebook page on Sunday 3rd November.

Thank you for being here.  Your presence encourages me to share my artwork, my voice and my view on the worlds around me and within me.

Leave a Reply

