Busy, busy, busy as bees

Howdy Folks!  Summer certainly became very lively from July onwards.   We went to a glamorous picnic on Dartmoor.

busyasbees011

Then Steve and I celebrated our double Leo birthdays with a long weekend in London followed by a week at home together.

busyasbees010

And I have been making, making, making in the weeks running up to Devon Open Studios.

busyasbees007

busyasbees008

busyasbees009

A typical day in our salon

busyasbees002

Spirit Bird in progress

busyasbees003

busyasbees012

Spirit Bird

I had several of my paintings and drawings  about my Muscogee heritage framed and translated many of the titles into Muscogee.  An entire room in our flat is dedicated to this work.

busyasbees014

busyasbees004

Inspiration from the Muscogee

I designed a very big Perspex frame for some of my existing and future translucent artwork.

busyasbees005

Frame for illuminations

Suncast Shadows

Suncast Shadows

I also hand lettered a poem onto the back of one of my quilts, which I had designed a frame for.

busyasbees015

busyasbees006

Writing ‘Desert River Goddess’ onto the back of the quilt

Finally, on September 5th, we celebrated the sixth anniversary of the night we met!

Two thumbs up!

Two thumbs up!

So, now that Devon Open Studios is underway and Autumn is just around the corner, life is settling down to a quieter rhythm.  I’m looking forward to getting back to my blog more regularly too.

Leave a Reply

