Transformational Fire

Last week a few of my artist friends and I got together to burn some artwork.

ashes018

I am in the process of re-jigging my studio so that the supplies for the next few projects I have in mind are readily accessible.  In the process, I cleared out some unused mattes and pieces of wood & card board.  I had culled several drawings from my portfolio that weren’t worth hanging onto, as well.  All very good fuel for the fire. For ages, I’ve had a long box stuffed with shredded paper that I got in a delivery, which has been sitting under one of my worktables.

ashes009

Stuck to it was a piece of card with my name stamped on it.  I’ve been saving it for just this moment.

ashes007

I made an effigy of my younger self to put onto the flames.  She is made from fragile twigs, with arms that reach for, but can not grasp.

ashes006

ashes012

I wrote some words on the outside of the box.

ashes008

ashes002

I hereby consign to the flames:  MELINDA the Younger.

The one who doubts, the one who questions herself,
the one who thinks she isn’t good enough,
THE ONE AFRAID TO MAKE A MESS
the one who thinks everyone else is better,
the one afraid to make her Mark,
the one afraid to shift her shape & the one afraid to shape her shift,
the one who needs to be right,
AFRAID
the one who feels wrong,
the one always reaching but never having,
AFRAID
the one who waits until . . . . until . . . . until . . . .
the one afraid to speak the truth into her art,
the one afraid to try,
the one afraid to fail,
the one afraid to be the best,
the one who doesn’t know she is enough,
AFRAID
the timid one,
the procrastinator and waster of talent,
the fritterer away of time,
AFRAID
the one who thinks that everyone is looking,
the one who thinks she can’t be seen,
the invisible one,
AFRAID
the one who wants to disappear,
the coward,
the one who makes pleasing art,
the squanderer of creative riches,
AFRAID
the one who makes art to please the judge and jury,
the unbrave one,
the seeker of approval,
AFRAID
the one who waits for the OK,
the seeker of safety,
the one who doesn’t dare.

THE WARRANTY ON FEAR IS NULL AND VOID

– Melinda Schwakhofer, 2015

ashes004

It was a powerful and spontaneous evening.  The Full Moon was coupled with Jupiter in Leo.

ashes005
I am not that big into astrology, although I am a Leo.  Apparently this is a big year for us!  I decided to look into this special celestial event.

“This is a celebration Moon.   A reward for the hard work and intense striving that you have done.

Be curious about life. Be engaged in the magic of the moment. Be in your heart.

Let go of the need to criticize and judge. This will kill your creativity. Instead, allow yourself to make mistakes. It is the only way to learn what works and what does not work for you.

The magic word is ‘try. ‘Try something different. Try and observe with your mind and your heart open.”

I also burnt a nest I made last Springtime with clay eggs which never hatched.

ashes013

ashes003
A phoenix seemed to rise out of the flames.

ashes001
We found a huge wooden sword which we used to bless and knight each of us.

ashes010

ashes014

We each said our word for the year.

   fire · loyalty · health · recognition · brave

ashes015

Source:  Mystic Mamma

Leave a Reply

