Word

My word for 2016 is ‘Focus’.

Opera Glasses ;; Joseph Lorusso (b. 1966)

Opera Glasses  ::   Joseph Lorusso (b. 1966)

In 2015, it was ‘Brave‘.  For the past year, I’ve been open to lots of ideas and possibilities, and have begun some explorations.  I actually haven’t produced very much, which is OK.   Now I feel ready to narrow my vision and choose.

Already, a very exciting opportunity has come my way which I have grasped with both hands.  In February I start/develop my new role as an artist working with people living with dementia.  This is pretty much my dream job.  I’ll be sharing and developing the post with an artist friend who lives in my village and I think that she and I will complement eachother very well.   I have an academic background in Counseling Psychology  and a lot of personal experience of my own and in facilitating the deeply healing aspects of artmaking and creativity with others.  I am going to London tomorrow to a workshop on Early Stage Dementia Awareness Training for Arts Facilitators.  I’m really stoked, a little nervous and have the feeling that a new world of opportunities to combine my counseling skills and working creatively with people is opening up before my eyes.

I have also decided that in May,  I’ll submit some artwork to a juried show open to Native American artists on the theme of Spirituality & Borderlands.  Last year I got my Muscogee (Creek) Nation Citizenship ID card for this express purpose.   More on that later, but I have already begun working on a piece.

What is your word for 2016?

 

One thought on “Word

  1. Really happy for you Melinda about these opportunities opening up to you! Hope the training day is stimulating and helpful.
    My word (thank you for inviting me to reflect on this) is Relinquish
    Love, Eleanor xx

Leave a Reply

