Pause and experiment

This week I’ve been back to work on an art quilt l began making in May 2021.

My studio

Pelofv is a Mvskoke word that means ‘woods with a creek running through them’. I’ve been using this design in different art media for the past several years since my first visit to my homelands in what is now the Southeastern United States. I’m really pleased with the trees that I cut out and pinned up yesterday using some of the batik fabric l bought at Quilts Unlimited in Wytheville Virginia last summer.

When l began this quilt l cut a pair of Horned Water Serpents from warm batik fabric. The thing is the color isn’t quite right.

So I’ve chosen some blue green silk that’s much better. Only now I need to paint or appliqué or stitch into it. Or all three! So I’ve avoided working on it for the past 24 hours.

The thing is that I get super uncomfortable when l don’t know how to do something I’ve never done before. Totally unrealistic l know, but full disclosure here. So I’ve decided to give myself permission to pause and experiment. This is a big deal for this perfectionist!

Elevenses

I’ve been playing around this morning with some Pebeo textile markers and Setacolor textile paint l bought in Bristol a couple of weeks ago at Cass Art Store. I still feel anxious and like l have to rush and get on with it and get those Horned Serpents up there. But I’m trusting this slow process.

Slowing down and breathing and letting the artwork lead the way.

Giving myself permission to explore and make mistakes, to do the wrong thing and, shock horror, waste materials. A scrap of fabric and a few millilitres of paint. Big wow!

One thought on “Pause and experiment

  1. Occasionally these older symbols cause strange occurances around the homeplace when used…keep your eyes and ears open..we call it the echo of the past…especially if you live near a creek or especially a spring

Leave a comment