Pelofv

My quilt Pelofv has been to and returned from the Festival of Quilts in Birmingham, England.
At 2.5 metres high I wasn’t able to see it hung until I went to the quilt show.

Back of Pelofv

The front of the quilt took me over two years to complete. I pieced the back in about one and a half days! I enjoyed the process and felt like I was a dinner party hostess arranging a guest list & seating diagram, choosing colors and shapes that would have good conversations with one another. The back has elements of the Mvskoke Creation Story. I intend to paint some words onto the back later on.

Pelofv, 252 x 140cm

The quilting which holds all three layers together was a very organic process. I often didn’t know what I was going to do until I started each section. For the borders, I quilted a stylized nod to the Eastern Woodlands floral patterns.

The border, front and back

I always love seeing how quilting shapes look on the front and the back.

Hvse :: Sun, front
Hvse :: Sun, back
Quilt label with a grackle printed onto organza

For exhibitions, I have to be quite concise with my description. I’m writing the script for a short film about this quilt, its genesis, and all of the meaning that it holds.

2 thoughts on “Pelofv

Leave a comment